Home Liverpool FC Player Of The Season 2020/21

Liverpool FC Player Of The Season 2020/21

Liverpool FC Player of the Season

The Liverpool FC Player Of the Season award

The Liverpool FC Player of the Season award has been around since the 2001-02 season. Over the years, there have been a total of 12 different players who have won this award. Only three players have won this award on multiple occasions and they are Steven Gerrard, Luis Suarez and Philippe Coutinho. Widely regarded to be the greatest Liverpool player of all-time, Steven Gerrard has won this award a record four times.

Virgil van Dijk was the recipient of this award in the 2018/19 season in addition to several other accolades he received. Last season, he had a very good chance of winning this award. The Dutchman has been in sublime form for Liverpool since his arrival, manning that backline through many victories. His marshaling of Liverpool’s defence has been remarkable and has earned him a reputation for being one of the best defenders in the world.

However, Sadio Mane’s recent run of form has made him a top contender to receive this award too. Alisson Becker is not too far behind and could be the third Brazilian to grab this award in the future.

Liverpool FC Player Of The Season (Voted By Fans)

Here are all the Liverpool FC player of the season winners over the years until last season –

Season Fans’ Player Score
2001–02 Sami Hyypiä 30%
2002–03 Danny Murphy 42%
2003–04 Steven Gerrard 85%
2004–05 Steven Gerrard 129 pts.
2005–06 Steven Gerrard 33%
2006–07 Steven Gerrard 60 pts.
2007–08 Fernando Torres 78%
2008–09 Steven Gerrard 46%
2009–10 Pepe Reina 75%
2010–11 Lucas Leiva 40%
2011–12 Martin Škrtel 44%
2012–13 Luis Suárez 64%
2013–14 Luis Suárez
2014–15 Philippe Coutinho
2015–16 Philippe Coutinho
2016–17 Sadio Mané
2017–18 Mohamed Salah
2018–19 Virgil van Dijk 47%
2019–20 Jordan Henderson

Liverpool FC 2019/20 Player Of The Season

Jordan Henderson was named the Liverpool FC Player of the Season in 2020. After a gruelling Premier League season, the skipper turned out to be the most deserving, according to the fans.

All the votes from supporters were combined with nominations from the club’s official former players association, Forever Reds. Henderson pipped Sadio Mane to this prestigious honour. He made 40 appearances for the Reds all season, scoring four and laying out 5 assists.

“Even in the next six or seven years, I should hopefully be able to perform at the highest level.”

Henderson commanded the team’s midfield throughout the campaign, not missing a single important fixture and once again, proving all doubters wrong. He is a fan favourite and a loyal servant who aims to serve the Reds for a long time.

Liverpool Academy Players’ Player of the Year

Liverpool Academy Players' Player of the Year

The Liverpool Academy has given the club some of its finest ever footballers. Several of Liverpool’s all-time greats like Ian Callaghan, Ronnie Moran, Billy Liddell, Jamie Carragher, Robbie Fowler and Steven Gerrard have graduated from the club’s academy.

The Liverpool Academy Players’ Player of the Year began in 2014 and since then, 5 players have won this award. Australia’s Brad Smith is the only Non-European footballer who has bagged this award.

Here are all the winners of the Liverpool Academy Players’ Player of the Year.

Liverpool FC Academy Players’ Player Of The Year.

Year Winner
2013-14 Jordan Rossiter
2014-15 Joao Carlos Texeira
2015-16 Brad Smith
2016-17 Trent Alexander-Arnold
2017-18 Harry Wilson

Liverpool FC Academy Players’ Player of the Year Details

Jordan Rossiter

Central midfielder was the first recipient of this award for the 2013-14  season. He joined Liverpool’s youth team in 2003 and played there till 2014. After spending two years warming the bench in the senior team, Rossiter joined Rangers. He currently plays at fourth-tier club Bury on loan from Rangers.

Joao Carlos Teixeira

Portuguese winger Joao Carlos Texeira became the first foreign recipient of this award. He played in Liverpool’s youth team for a year before joining the senior team. After a few loan spells, Teixeira left Liverpool for good and joined Porto. He currently plies his trade at Vitoria Guimaraes.

Brad Smith

Australian left-back Brad Smith is the only non-European recipient of this award as of now. Smith joined Liverpool’s youth setup in 2008 and played there till 2013. He made sporadic appearances for the senior team from 2013-2016 before leaving the club for Bournemouth. Smith currently plays at MLS club Seattle Sounders on loan from Bournemouth.

See Also: